Photo: Robert Goddyn
United Kingdom, 1948

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan is a writer. His debut was the 1975 short story collection First Love, Last Rites. His first novel, The Cement Garden, followed in 1978. His work has been translated into many languages, and a number of his novels, The Comfort of Strangers (1981) and Atonement (2001) among them, were made into films. Amsterdam won the 1998 Booker Prize. More recent works are Saturday (2005), On Chesil Beach (2007) and Solar (2010).

Speaker at


Part I. Love and Death

The Quest for Life

4 February 2001 9.30 - 20.00 Tilburg University