Peru, 1936
winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature

Mario Vargas Llosa

Mario Vargas Llosa is a writer. He studied literature and law in Lima and worked as a journalist. He broke through with his debut novel, The Time of the Hero (English translation 1969), in 1963. Other classic novels by Vargas Llosa are Conversation in the Cathedral (1969, English translation 1975), the autobiographical Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter (1977, English translation 1982),The Feast of the Goat (2000, English translation 2002) and The Dream of the Celt (2010). In 1990, he was a candidate in the Peruvian presidential elections. About his campaign, he wrote the memoir A Fish in the Water (1994). In 2012, Vargas Llosa won the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Published in

Nexus Library

The Culture That Was

Bilingual edition
Journal Nexus

Nexus 79

Brief aan mijn leraar
Journal Nexus

Nexus 56

De terugkeer van de spoken
Journal Nexus
2010 or Earlier

Nexus 44

Journal Nexus
2010 or Earlier

Nexus 34

De queeste van het leven Deel II. Het Kwaad
Journal Nexus
2010 or Earlier

Nexus 32

Andere ogen

Speaker at


Nexus Lecture Mario Vargas Llosa

The Future of Humanism

8 June 2013 14.30 - 17.00 Auditorium Tilburg University
NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and/or using this Photograph, user is consenting to the terms and conditions of the UPA Photo Images License Agreement.  (Photo by Robert Goddyn)


Nexus Symposium

The Return of the Ghosts

11 November 2010 13.30 - 17.45 Auditorium Tilburg University


Part I. Mass Democracy on Trial

What Is a Good Society?

13 November 2005 09.45 - 21.30 Passenger Terminal, Amsterdam


Nexus Conference 2004

Europe: A Beautiful Idea?

4 december 2004 9.00 - 18.10 Van Nelle Ontwerpfabriek, Rotterdam


Part II. Evil

The Quest for Life

11 June 2002 9.20 - 21.45 Tilburg University


Part I. Love and Death

The Quest for Life

4 February 2001 9.30 - 20.00 Tilburg University